To India – My Origins

purple_plant

Fall flowers on a decorative plant in my neighbor’s front yard

A while since my last bit of writing.

“…since I last wrote” would be much shorter and to the delight of the late William J. Strunk Jr., of ‘The Elements of Style’ fame, but could convey alternate meanings and make a reader pause. Sometimes being a bit more specific, albeit with more words, can be clearer.

To the topic at hand. I’m off to India, the land that originated so very many, yours truly one among such beings. It will be a long trip, of four months this time, for I must settle grave family matters there.

I wish…I didn’t have to go. The season has changed in the Southwest, fall’s here, and the flora in our little yards show so as in the picture posted. My neighbor, whose yards I tended to while she was away, will be back today from a summer vacation up north. My children will have their fall break begin on the very day I travel. Good friends, Giddu and his children, returned just a few months ago after a few years abroad, and now visit me here often. But a dire family circumstance compels my departure…and I must.

My writing is hence destined for greater breaks…but perhaps I can use this time to begin a second book!

The very best to all readers and writers in the meanwhile…

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

 

About Rian Nejar

Rian Nejar is a mid-60's child from India. He trained and worked as an engineer in India, lived briefly in the Middle East, and arrived in America in the early 90's. After a Master’s degree in electrical engineering in America, he worked as an academic instructor, engineer, entrepreneur, and technical writer over the two decades since. Humbling and Humility is the first heartfelt written expression of his varied life experiences. He lives and writes in the Southwest United States.
This entry was posted in Literary, Social, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.