Daddy Daughter Date

flower_tree

Sidewalk littered with Spring flowers 

“Avoid Alliteration Always.”

Pithy advice on good writing. Doesn’t work always, though…didn’t work for this post’s title! No matter. Am I not allowed a few mistakes, now and then?

My new teen going-on-20 daughter rode by this evening. She had her now-common Katana in its scabbard slung over her shoulder. Have you seen this weapon? A fearsome, most effective blade of choice of the Japanese Samurai. My daughter wears it wherever she goes, wherever it is allowed, of course. Though made of wood, it has proven quite effective – often on my knuckles as she swings it around.

41ndctw6h3l-_sy355_

Practice Katana and scabbard 

“Dad let’s go out to eat,” said she.

“What, now? I have some ginger curry, rice, and sides for you…”

She wouldn’t be swayed. “I feel like some Mexican food.”

“Okay. Lemme put something on. Can’t drive in house clothes.”

“No, Dad, let’s ride. It’s a nice day out!”

She’d made her mind up. “Are you going to a restaurant as a Samurai?”

Laughing, she unbuckled her scabbard and tossed it on a sofa. We set out on our bikes along a pleasant sidewalk littered with flowers…and soon found ourselves at Gecko Grill. I’d been concerned – that it may not be a nice place to go to – but it turned out to be a wonderful new place. My daughter talked a mile a minute about how she’d come here twice before with friends. I realized that she’d wanted to show me this place. She liked it and so did I.

She really enjoyed the food. As usual, we ordered only for her, and I ordered a small side salad – that I had her eat as well. The food was marvelous, and I wrote “Excellent food, and service!” on the credit card receipt. Not to be outdone, she wrote “Far better than Serrano’s!” too.

Riding back after sunset was a bit of an adventure. We did not have any lights on our bikes, and some tree branches weren’t too friendly along the way. Not to mention cars turning in at a number of road crossings. But it was a pleasant outing…and she let me know that as we rode back. Father, samurai-in-training daughter, on our healthy and humble conveyances.

An event that made enough of an impression on me to want to write…

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

About Rian Nejar

Rian Nejar is an Indian-American author. He trained and worked as an engineer in India, lived briefly in the Middle East, and arrived in America in the early 90's. After a Master’s degree in electrical engineering in America, he worked as an academic instructor, engineer, entrepreneur, and technical writer over the two decades since. Humbling and Humility is the first heartfelt written expression of his varied life experiences. He lives and writes in the Southwest United States.
This entry was posted in Parenting, Social, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.