A Bicycle in a Car

riaprian_walkway

My good buddy and grad school roommate flew through the major airport here yesterday. He insisted on seeing me, though he had less than a half-hour, near about midnight, at the airport. We are rather close.

So… I loaded my bicycle in my old (200K+ miles) kid transporter, packed some survival food, and left for the rather distant airport. Packed a couple of small gifts for his kids too. My buddy’s reaction, when he saw the bike inside the car, was priceless.

“What is that?”
“To get back home, in case this old clunker dies.”
“Ride all the way?!”
“Hey, two wheels are better than two tired legs…”

He said no more, packed two of the three gifts I’d brought along for his kids into his bag, and got in.

We drove out to a nearby main street and corner shop, sat outside, munching on my survival fare. I dropped him off at midnight, as he’d asked, for he’d seen long lines at security checkpoints in the terminal. He just about made his flight.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

About Rian Nejar

Rian Nejar is a mid-60's child from India. He trained and worked as an engineer in India, lived briefly in the Middle East, and arrived in America in the early 90's. After a Master’s degree in electrical engineering in America, he worked as an academic instructor, engineer, entrepreneur, and technical writer over the two decades since. Humbling and Humility is the first heartfelt written expression of his varied life experiences. He lives and writes in the Southwest United States.
This entry was posted in Social, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.