Review: Writing Flash Fiction: How to Write Very Short Stories and Get Them Published

Writing Flash Fiction: How to Write Very Short Stories and Get Them Published
Writing Flash Fiction: How to Write Very Short Stories and Get Them Published by Carly Berg

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

An excellent reference for writers of all styles, not just flash fiction. A book to be read once, twice, and as many times as one can to get most of Carly’s insights imprinted in one’s brain.

I discovered ‘flash fiction’ and one-line fiction stories from this informative work by Carly Berg. The very idea of restricting a story to such insane limits horrifies me. A bit old-fashioned, I like to settle into a complex story and enjoy its characters and narration as one may enjoy sights and experiences in a long journey. A writer myself, quickies, in stories, or life, bring up unpleasant psychosomatic reactions. Nevertheless, primed by the soundbite world today, and informed by Carly’s clear and succinct descriptions, I stand educated and enlightened.

Lucid, concise, and creative in descriptions and metaphors (“…danced, snapping his fingers,“”ping-pongy“), this is an enjoyable work about the art and science of writing tight, and writing well. The many aspects of loose writing highlighted will resonate with all writers. Carly reminded me that I write in long sentences that may have my readers gasping for air as they attempt to surface from depths of complexity in my sentence structure. See what I mean? I need to, as she admonishes, “Break them up.” Not with a whole lot of punctuation. Just make them brief and seamless. I enjoyed revisiting all of my own editing efforts as I read through this book.

A minor peeve: for a book about flash fiction, or pieces as short as 500 words, I found this guide a mite long. I haven’t finished it, but have seen enough in it of value to write this review.

Highly recommended to every newbie writer, as a great start to writing short pieces and thus learning to write well before attempting full-length novels, and to every experienced writer, for a refresher on tight writing and habits to eschew or be fully aware of. I need to break this sentence too…old habits die hard!

A review provided in exchange for a free PDF copy of the book.

__________________________________________________

View all my reviews

About Rian Nejar

Rian Nejar is a mid-60's child from India. He trained and worked as an engineer in India, lived briefly in the Middle East, and arrived in America in the early 90's. After a Master’s degree in electrical engineering in America, he worked as an academic instructor, engineer, entrepreneur, and technical writer over the two decades since. Humbling and Humility is the first heartfelt written expression of his varied life experiences. He lives and writes in the Southwest United States.
This entry was posted in Literary, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Review: Writing Flash Fiction: How to Write Very Short Stories and Get Them Published

  1. Sounds like a good manual, I will have to look it up.

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.