I’d Rather Be a Sparrow than a Snail

A bird in a tree home

A bird in a tree home

I’d rather be a sparrow than a snail
Yes, I would
If I could
I’d surely would.
I’d rather be a hammer than a nail
Yes, I would
If I could
I’d surely would.
Away, I‘d like to sail away
Like a swan
That’s here and gone
A man gets tied up to the ground
He gives the world

Its saddest sound, its saddest sound.
I’d rather be a forest than a street
Yes, I would
If I could
I’d surely would.
I’d rather feel the earth beneath my feet
Yes, I would
If I could
I’d surely would.

[By: Paul Simon and Art Garfunkel]

This song came to mind a couple of days ago, and I looked up its lyrics. Imagine my astonishment when I realized a strong connection between this beautiful expression by two of my favorite bards, and “Humbling and Humility.”

Without ever meaning to do so, I think this book lived true to their words: “A man gets tied up to the ground; He gives the world its saddest sound, its saddest sound.” Besides, even the pictures on the book’s covers reflect a simple message in the song; a sparrow and a snail, a bird and its prey – I have a nectar-sipping butterfly, hoping to scare away its predators, and an observant bird, perched on a tree branch. And, as a book reviewer put it, the narrative can be called a sad chronicle …

Just random thoughts on Mothers Day 🙂

~~~~~~~~~~~

About Rian Nejar

Rian Nejar is an Indian-American author. He trained and worked as an engineer in India, lived briefly in the Middle East, and arrived in America in the early 90's. After a Master’s degree in electrical engineering in America, he worked as an academic instructor, engineer, entrepreneur, and technical writer over the two decades since. Humbling and Humility is the first heartfelt written expression of his varied life experiences. He lives and writes in the Southwest United States.
This entry was posted in Art, Literary, Philosophy, Social and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.