What is Love but Summer Wine?

Summer Wine came to mind today. A song I’d heard and loved decades ago. Spring is in the air, perhaps; the past weekend was its official beginning this year. As the song goes, summer wine is made from strawberries, cherries, and an angel’s kiss in spring.

Do you remember your first kiss? One that never leaves your mind and heart? I do. Decades later, it is the most vivid of my memories of that time. If anything could come close to a kiss by an angel, that was it for me.

Does that mean something? That the touch, and its joy, never leaves you? I think it is an indication of love, of an emotion, and connection, that rises above all others.

It happened to me in the most unexpected of all places and times…in a spare kitchen, after a hard day’s work, and in the midst of emotional conflict. I was disturbed and angry…at the caring someone showed me without clarifying what it meant. Rather expressive in my youth at the time, I crushed an apple on her kitchen counter with one hand. She looked at me and asked, “Do you really want to know?” Before I could respond, she pressed up against me, pulled my head down to her, and kissed me with a sweetness no words can describe.

Yet, it was not to be…in time, she pushed me away to faraway lands to seek my fortune. But a craving for love, such as I’d felt in that intimate moment, remained with me forever.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~

About Rian Nejar

Rian Nejar is a mid-60's child from India. He trained and worked as an engineer in India, lived briefly in the Middle East, and arrived in America in the early 90's. After a Master’s degree in electrical engineering in America, he worked as an academic instructor, engineer, entrepreneur, and technical writer over the two decades since. Humbling and Humility is the first heartfelt written expression of his varied life experiences. He lives and writes in the Southwest United States.
This entry was posted in Literary, Philosophy and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.